Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf

For my mother’s birthday years ago, okay like two years ago, I gave her Ellie Kriger’s The Food You Crave recipe book and she’s only made one recipe since.  She tried making her Turkey Meatloaf and her Smashed Potatoes with Sour Cream & Chives.   Well, it wasn’t a hit for her, but it was for me!  So, ladies & gents… meatloaf is what’s for dinner tonight.

Turkey Meatloaf
From Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave
Makes 8 (1 inch thick) slices

You’ll need:
– ¾ cup quick-cooking oats
– ½ cup skim milk
– 1 medium onion, peeled
– 2 pounds ground turkey breast
– ½ cup chopped red bell pepper
– 2 eggs, beaten
– 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
– ¼ cup ketchup
– ½ tsp salt
– Freshly ground black pepper
– 1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°F.

In a small bowl, stir together the oats and milk. Thinly slice ¼ of the onion and set aside. Finely chop the remaining onion. In a large bowl combine the turkey, oat mixture, chopped onion, bell pepper, eggs, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, salt and a few grinds of pepper. Mix just until well combined.

Transfer the mixture to a 9 x13 inch baking dish and shape into a loaf about 5 inches wide and 2 ½ inches high. Pour the tomato sauce over the meatloaf and sprinkle with the sliced onions. Bake for about 1 hour or until an instant-read thermometer registers 160°F.

Remove from the oven and let rest for 10 to15 minutes before slicing.

If you read some of the reviews on the Food Network website, a lot of them said that the consistency wasn’t where it should have been, so like most, I added more oats.  Actually, I added about a cup to get it to where I wanted…or so I thought.  The meatloaf was still a bit mushy after I took it out of the oven.   I even kept it in the oven an extra 15 minutes.  I wonder if it has anything to do with it being lean turkey.  Maybe I just need to tweak the recipe a bit more.  Flavor was great though!  :)

Oh, and I’m not sure if you saw on Twitter, but I’m hosting my blog.  I haven’t prettied it up or anything, so I’ll post the link when it’s ready.  And if you have any ideas for my blog, seriously, let me know.  I want to write about things other than recipes!

5 Comments

Filed under salty

5 responses to “Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf

  1. Kat

    I made spaghetti and meatballs the other day and used ground turkey and my meatballs were a little mushy too! Granted they were delicious but still. I tried to add more bread crumbs but it didn’t help much. When you figure it out, let me know! That meatloaf looks scrumptious though!

    Oh and as far as ideas for your new blog… I told you I suck at baking but would like to get into it. And since you’re an expert baker I think you should give out baking tips and ideas! :)

    • RLV

      Thanks, Kat! Chris says it might be because turkey is a poultry, so it doesn’t stick together as well as ground beef. Eh, I don’t know.

      But yes, I think I will talk about baking more often. Good one. :)

  2. meatloaf is my favorite. are you starting a new blog? i’m a little confused.

  3. I know i’ve said this before, but you should blog more about Kirby !! He’s such a cutie pie, I would def. like to read about his adventures hahah. I made turkey meatloaf once, but i can’t remember if it came out mushy hmmm. Maybe Chris is right!

Leave a Reply

