Recipe: Linguine with Shrimp & Vegetables

It’s been a week since I’ve posted anything.  Forgive me.

I’ve been eating a lot of shrimp lately. So, why not post a recipe that has shrimp in it?!  In Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave, she mentions that this is a perfect meal to celebrate Spring.  Well, we’re about three weeks early, but I’m perfectly okay with that.

Linguine with Shrimp & Vegetables
Adapted from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave
Serves 4 (serving size: 2½ cups)

You’ll need:
– ½ box (12 oz) linguine
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 2 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 tsp)
– 1 lb large shrimp, peeled & deveined
– ⅓ cup fresh lemon juice
– ½ cup dry white wine
– 1 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
– 1 pint container cherry tomatoes, cut in half
– ¼ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
– salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:
Cook the linguine according to the package directions. Drain, reserving 1 cup of the pasta water.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the asparagus and garlic and cook for 2 minutes. Add the shrimp and cook until they turn pink and the asparagus is tender but firm, 3 to 4 minutes more. Remove the shrimp mixture from the pan and set aside.

Combine the lemon juice, wine, and reserved pasta water in the skillet over medium-high heat. Let simmer until the liquid is reduced by about half. Return the shrimp and asparagus to the pan and stir in the parsley. Add the drained linguine, tossing to combine. Add the tomatoes and toss. Sprinkle with cheese, season with salt and pepper, and serve.

It was light, fresh, tangy, and just plain ol’ good!  You could really add or replace the shrimp with other kinds of seafood, like scallops, if you want.  I think I’ll try using less lemon juice and maybe adding the asparagus that was originally in the recipe—I’m totally going to get it after saying this, but I just don’t like asparagus!

Anyway, happy eating!

13 Comments

Filed under savory

13 responses to “Recipe: Linguine with Shrimp & Vegetables

  1. Rosalie G.Teodoro

    linguine with shrimp & vegetables i like this it
    will be my favorite one.

    mom

  2. Aww Hi Auntie!! :)

    Sounds & looks like a dish I’d love to try. Lemon, shrimp & pasta – can’t go wrong with that!

  3. That looks so good!! You know what would be a great add on? Red pepper flakes!! Mmm!

    • RLV

      Yeah, that would probably be good. I’ll add some in there if you’re ever around to eat it – I know you like spicy. Hehe.

  4. Jlyn

    I love this recipe, I always make it when I’m low on supplies..for some reason there always seems to be frozen shrimp in the freezer and pasta in the pantry when it happens! It’s just so light and easy to make, definitely one of my faves =)

    p.s. Katrina – I LOVE it with red pepper flakes. triple MMM.

  5. Aly

    Oh my! I love shrimp & this looks so delish! I should make it soon. That is, if & when I ever get the motivation to make an actual meal. Haha :]

  6. kat

    Yummmm-O. I also love this dish! I substitute the garlic with shallots and add chives at the end. I think I’ll have this tomorrow. Thanks again Ronalyn!

    What’s for dessert? :)

  7. jennb16

    Once I get the motivation to do something other than sleep — I will definitely try this out!

  8. Delicious! I’ve been craving for something like this all week :)

Leave a Reply

