Recipe: Pad See Ew

Pad See Ew is my favorite Thai dish. For someone who’s still trying new foods, this dish is perfect. I know a lot start eating Pad Thai when trying Thai for the first time, but I didn’t like the peanut mixed in with my food. I read on someone’s blog recently that Pad See Ew literally means “fried with soy sauce.” Um, I like anything fried and I definitely love soy sauce. I mean, I could just eat jasmine rice with soy sauce as a snack.

It’s been over a year since I’ve made Pad See Ew and every time I do, it tastes better & better! It’ really easy to make too! Oh, and I totally forgot where I got this recipe from, but we can just call it “Ronalyn’s Pad See Ew” since I’ve changed it so many times anyway!

Pad See Ew
Serves 4-6

You’ll need:
– 1-2 cups chicken, about 1 lb
– 1 lb rice noodles
– 1 cup soy sauce
– 1 cup hoisin sauce
– ¼ cup oyster sauce
– ½ tbsp rice vinegar
– ½ tsp sriracha
– 2 tbsp granulated sugar
– 2 eggs
– 2 garlic cloves
– ½ lb chinese broccoli
– ¼ cup toasted sesame seed oil

Directions:
Place rice noodles in boiling water.  Cook for 8-10 minutes or until noodles have softened.   Drain water completely.  Before frying, make sure noodles are dry—do not cook noodles immediately or they will break apart in the process.  Trust me, I did it tonight! I remembered last time!

Meanwhile, crush the garlic cloves and brown garlic with 1 tbsp of oil in wok under medium heat.  Throw noodles into wok & fry.  Stir.  Then, add the soy sauce, hoisin sauce, oyster sauce, rice vinegar, and sugar.  Stir to combine.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes.


Add eggs and scramble.   Add chicken and broccoli (as you can tell from the pictures I didn’t have chinese broccoli, so I used what I had on hand).  Add sriracha.  Stir to combine and cover and cook for another 5 minutes.

I usually had another tbsp of hoisin sauce and soy sauce before serving…but this recipe is soo basic you can do whatever you liiiiike.

3 Comments

Filed under salty, savory, spicy

3 responses to “Recipe: Pad See Ew

  1. Yum yum! I need to make this one day.

  2. Lammie

    hola! This looks great! I recommend lee kum kee oyster sauce but its expensiveeeeeeeee, so sometimes I just used the panda brand which is a little more watery.

Leave a Reply

