Recipe: Victoria Sponge Cake + Raspberry Jam

I’ve been in a cake mood lately.   I bought Nigella Lawson’s How to Be a Domestic Goddess months ago and I still hadn’t made anything from the book.  I typically use the internet to find recipes, but thought, “Well, you do have many cookbooks, why not use them?  You did buy them after all.”  And yes, I talk to myself using second-person narrative.

I like using any reason to bake/cook something.  Take Super Bowl weekend, for example..

Victoria Sponge
Adapted from Nigella Lawson’s How to Be a Domestic Goddess
Serves 6-8

You’ll need:
For the cake—
– 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, very soft
– ¾ cup sugar
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 4 large eggs
– 1⅓ cups self-rising cake flour
– 2 tbsp cornstarch
– 1 tsp baking powder (if using processor method)
– 4 tbsp milk
– 2 8×2 inch cake pans (buttered and lined with parchment or wax paper)

For the filling—
– 4 tbsp raspberry jam (recipe below)
– 1 cup raspberries
– 1 cup heavy cream

For the topping—
– 2 tbsp sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. If you’re using a food processor, put all of the ingredients in except milk and process until you’ve got a smooth batter. Then pulse, pouring milk gradually through the funnel until your cake mixture’s a soft, dropping consistency.

(I didn’t have any self-rising cake flour, so I just used self-rising flour. But after baking it, I think I’ll use a combination of cake flour and self-rising flour so it’s really soft and cake-ier. Yes, I know cake-ier is not a word.)

Anyway, if you want to make it in the traditional way, cream the butter and sugar, add the vanilla and then the eggs, one at a time, adding a spoonful of flour between each. Fold in the rest of the flour and the cornstarch, adding no baking powder. When everything is incorporated, add a little milk as you need.

Pour and scrape the batter into the pans and bake for about 25 minutes, until cakes are beginning to come away at the edges, are springy to the touch on top, and a cake tester comes out clean. Leave the cakes in their pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes before turning out and cooling completely.

When you’re ready to eat the cake, put one layer on a plate, right-way up, spread with jam, and scatter the berries on top. Whip the cream until it’s thickened but still soft and spread over the jammy berries. Sit the other cake on top, upside down, and sprinkle a tablespoon or so of sugar.

Hands-free Raspberry Jam
Makes 1 cup

You’ll need:
– 1 cup of raspberries
– 1 cup of sugar
– 1 8 oz jar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Put raspberries and sugar into two separate oven-safe bowls or pans. Put the bowls into the oven 30 minutes until they are really hot. Take them out of the oven carefully, and add the sugar to the raspberries. Gently stir to combine raspberries and sugar. Afterwards, pour the mixture into cleaned and waiting jar. Fasten it, and leave to cool before storing in the refrigerator.

***


Update: So, everyone killed my cake.  Yay!  I will definitely make it again. :)

3 Comments

Filed under sweet

3 responses to “Recipe: Victoria Sponge Cake + Raspberry Jam

  1. LOL I think that last pic with chris is my fave!! I’ve always believed the best thing about cooking is being able to share it with those you love. That jam is unbelievable easy. I will have to try that one day. Enjoy the sponge & the superbowl!

  2. Yum yum! And lol @ Chris. Can I make a request?? Ice cream cake!!

    • RLV

      Yes, I do need to make ice cream cake! I have 2 recipes that I want to try actually… none of which I make my own, but it looks rather yummy!

Leave a Reply

