Recipe: Grilled Citrus Chicken

I promise I know other dinner recipes other than Chicken, but we just bought a huge bag of individually wrapped frozen Chicken breasts from Costco.

I got this particular recipe from the recipe book that came with the Bullet Express Trio my mom got me this past Christmas.  You don’t necessarily need the Trio to make this dish, btw.

Grilled Citrus Chicken
Adapted from the Ready in 8 Recipe Book
Serves 4

You’ll need:
– 4 boneless chicken breasts
– 1 lemon
– 2 oranges
– 3 limes
– 6 cloves garlic
– 3 tbsp olive oil
– ½ tsp pepper
– ½ tsp salt
– ⅛ tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:
Place chicken breasts in a shallow baking dish.  Juice lemon, oranges, & limes and combine juices into a food processor.  Add olive oil, salt, peper, & cayenne and process until creamy.  Pour over chicken, cover dish with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or overnight.  I chose to do the latter.  (Don’t have 2 hours?  Slice the chicken into wide, flat strips & marinate for just 20 minutes.)  After marinating, preheat a grill on high.  Remove chicken from marinade & grilled until cooked through, about 20 minutes.

Easy peasy, right?

I know what you’re thinking… the recipe book is titled Ready in 8, as in ready in 8 minutes or less.  Yeah, prep, marination and cook time combined, is way more than 8 freaking minutes.  I’m not complaining though, it was really easy!  Just wanted to point that out.  End rant.

Anyway, it was pretty good.  I thought it was a bit tangy for my taste, so I might just use 1 of each fruit in my marinade next time  around and possibly add more cayenne pepper.  Otherwise, this was a pretty good low carb dinner!  I’ve lost 6 lbs, btw!  Wee!

2 Comments

Filed under savory

2 responses to “Recipe: Grilled Citrus Chicken

  1. Oooo. That looks yum yum in my tum tum. I love citrusy chix. :)

  2. Can you make this for me?? That cob of corn looks so buttered up…mm..

Leave a Reply

